Skip to content
Reading Counts — Reading, in numbers.Local help →

Reading, in numbers

People and living standards

Reading council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Reading council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 134,827 in 1991 to 183,762 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Reading council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 139,491 people in 1996; 183,762 people in 2025. 31.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Reading council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991134,827
1992135,342
1993135,479
1994135,794
1995138,421
1996139,491
1997142,185
1998144,129
1999143,512
2000143,912
2001144,684
2002143,915
2003144,070
2004144,590
2005146,940
2006148,321
2007149,678
2008151,460
2009152,326
2010154,296
2011155,339
2012159,065
2013163,089
2014166,300
2015169,220
2016171,750
2017173,047
2018174,484
2019174,288
2020173,879
2021173,371
2022176,479
2023180,350
2024182,809
2025183,762
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Reading council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,342 people in 1996; 33,186 people in 2025. 17.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Reading council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199126,311
199226,848
199327,368
199427,490
199528,215
199628,342
199728,785
199829,057
199928,548
200027,879
200127,366
200226,883
200326,625
200426,443
200526,721
200626,950
200727,061
200827,748
200928,574
201029,494
201130,159
201230,965
201331,873
201432,768
201533,427
201633,606
201733,873
201833,807
201933,515
202033,351
202132,740
202233,173
202333,482
202433,604
202533,186
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Reading council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 92,669 people in 1996; 127,898 people in 2025. 38% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Reading council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199190,255
199290,233
199389,787
199489,922
199591,778
199692,669
199794,835
199896,487
199996,713
200097,892
200199,318
200299,179
200399,786
2004100,529
2005102,679
2006103,890
2007105,136
2008106,216
2009106,100
2010107,039
2011107,276
2012109,595
2013112,305
2014114,198
2015116,221
2016118,317
2017119,155
2018120,375
2019120,154
2020119,769
2021119,522
2022121,809
2023124,977
2024126,902
2025127,898
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Reading council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,480 people in 1996; 22,678 people in 2025. 22.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Reading council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,261
199218,261
199318,324
199418,382
199518,428
199618,480
199718,565
199818,585
199918,251
200018,141
200118,000
200217,853
200317,659
200417,618
200517,540
200617,481
200717,481
200817,496
200917,652
201017,763
201117,904
201218,505
201318,911
201419,334
201519,572
201619,827
201720,019
201820,302
201920,619
202020,759
202121,109
202221,497
202321,891
202422,303
202522,678
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 174,223 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Reading · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh30,84117.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African12,5327.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8,9625.1%
White116,88667.1%
Other ethnic group5,0022.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 155,698 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Reading · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White116,38774.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6,1804%
Asian/Asian British21,16113.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British10,4706.7%
Other ethnic group1,5001%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 143,096 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Reading · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White124,24086.8%
Mixed3,3992.4%
Asian/Asian British7,4485.2%
Black/Black British5,9314.1%
Chinese/Other2,0781.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Reading council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,747 per person in 1997; £25,812 per person in 2024. 119.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Reading council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,747
199811,807
199912,267
200013,195
200113,412
200213,848
200314,173
200414,609
200514,963
200615,552
200716,582
200816,981
200917,194
201017,008
201117,388
201217,882
201318,348
201418,557
201519,233
201619,630
201720,447
201820,875
201922,156
202021,938
202122,302
202223,263
202324,489
202425,812
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Reading council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 10.7% in 1997; -0.6% in 2024. 11.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Reading council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199710.7
19989
19998.4
200010.9
20018.4
20029.5
20038.7
20047.6
20056.4
20066.2
20078.1
20087.8
20097.4
20105.3
20116.7
20125.9
20134.8
20142.6
20151.1
20161.9
20173.8
20182.3
20195.1
20204.5
20212.1
20221.3
20230.2
2024-0.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.9%

21 March 2021 · Reading council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.6%

21 March 2021 · Reading council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.8%

21 March 2021 · Reading council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.7%

21 March 2021 · Reading council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£350,000

July 2026 · Reading council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,574

August 2026 · Reading council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.